//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Brief Introduction (aka. Who’s This Person Anyway?)

Spokane Public Library

Image by Library Development @ Washington State Library via Flickr

A good job seeker explores all available options to expand his or her network. The latest opportunity is online. As a career and employment counselor I should be exploring these as well. What good do I do if I encourage my job seekers to do what I won’t do myself?

I classify myself as a Workforce Development counselor and trainer, having worked in goverment, education and nonprofit sectors for the past 10 years. I started out as a teacher in a previous life and have taught classes, workshops and course curricula in high schools, colleges, universities and job training programs for over 20 years. Teaching and training is my forte, and my passion. Helping people in difficult situations is what I consider my calling (I don’t mean that in a conceited way), and I put my heart and soul into it.

These days searching for jobs is a whole other animal from what it used to be. I should know, not only as an employment counselor but also as a job seeker– I have been the victim of government budget cuts more than once. I have been laid off twice myself. I know the frustration of getting rejection acter rejection from employers, watching what I thought was my dream job floating away from me. Knowing the difficult circumstances in which today’s job seekers are finding themselves makes me even more determined to make a difference.

That’s why I decided to start this blog. I hope whoever reads this will get something out of it. I plan to share things I am learning firsthand as well as thoughts and feelings from jobseekers who are still fighting to be noticed.

I heartily welcome comments and feedback.

About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

