//
you're reading...
Jobseekers' Perspective

A Jobseeker’s Wish List

ELANCE Hire, manage and pay experts to do your...

Image by @Photo. via Flickr

I recently read an article about Ten Secrets of a Hiring Manager. Little about what I read was a surprise to me; much of it confirmed what I already knew or suspected about hiring managers.

As that article was written more from a hiring manager’s point of view, I pondered on it from an employment’s counselor’s standpoint and put together a wish list for job seekers.

I realize it’s not like I expect any employer to read this and decide to be nicer to job seekers, but I imagine many of my jobseekers will feel like their voices are finally being heard a little.

WISH LIST

  1. A job (I have to list the obvious first choice; I’d be laughed off the page if I didn’t)
  2. Is it too hard to send back a quick confirmation that my application was received? There is such a thing as an auto reply, and if you’re getting enough applications that it takes too long to say, “Your application was received and we’ll take a look at it shortly,” it would be worth your time to create a new email location specifically for sending in applications.
  3. If you know how much you’re going to pay me, why on earth do you want me to name a salary and botch it up for myself? Ok I know the answer to that question, but does this have to turn into a game of hit and miss?
  4. If I ask you why you chose not to hire me, please answer honestly! If I can take the rejection in the first place, I can definitely take the reason why. Maybe I can learn from your response and do better next time.
  5. Don’t try to placate me with things you don’t mean—like “we’ll call you” or, “we’ll keep your resume on file.” I think it might even be refreshing to hear an employer say, “Thanks for the application; you’ll never hear from us again!” At least then we’ll have no expectations.
  6. If an employer says they’ll have a decision next Tuesday, can they PLEASE have a decision next Tuesday? If things need to be done before the decision can be made, can the employer please come up with a more realistic expectation for a decision timeline?
  7. If you took the time to interview me, is it too much to ask to take a couple extra moments to email me a note saying I was not chosen? If I had a dime for all the times I didn’t hear anything at all back from a hiring manager, I might not need to file for Unemployment!

This wish list might be a little irreverent but I understand the frustrations that jobseekers have in the job search these days. I always welcome other additions to this wish list, but perhaps the best way to sum it up might be:

  1. I wish the hiring manager was on MY side of the interview table!
About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Re-education of Joelogs Jonas | YLBnoel's Blog - January 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Latest Tweets

  • Teaching a LinkedIn Pt. A class at WorkSource Pierce. 1 month ago

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

