//
you're reading...
Job Hunting, Jobseekers' Perspective

There’s ALWAYS SOMEBODY…

Portrait of Jane Austen, from the memoir by J....

Portrait of Jane Austen, from the memoir by J. E. Austen-Leigh. All other portraits of Austen are generally based on this, which is itself based on a sketch by Cassandra Austen (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I wrote and submitted an article about LinkedIn on one of my group pages. Amidst the long lines of comments, one person repeatedly talked about how she doesn’t use LinkedIn because she sees no value in it (and this is on LinkedIn!).

A customer rails against my comments as I taught a mature jobseekers workshop, the only person who had any negative comments afterward. Nothing specifically was mentioned about what he felt needed changing (other than the class needing a new facilitator).

After writing an article praising our Lead Support Group for my agency in honor of Administrative Professionals Day, I got a response saying that one person in the team had been replaced and was no longer on the team.

Why is it that there always seems to be somebody in the crowd to cry fowl?

I gave some information in a job club last week, using some of my personal background as an example of the point I was trying to establish. I received many thanks for my comments afterward, saying hearing my own previous struggles helped them greatly. I did not share anything “over the line,” as it were, but I still got called into the principal’s office because I shared personal information.

I have learned to ignore much of the naysayers in the crowd. Some people must feel this is the way to stand out—put down while others build up. I believe they do it just to receive attention. They definitely get their reward then.

Jane Austen wrote that sometimes people can get no happiness in their lives other than the perverse satisfaction of robbing happiness from others. People hear a compliment or a positive remark and may remember it, but if side by side with a negative remark, the negative will be the one remembered and retained. I once heard it takes seven positive statements to equal the impact of one negative. Thus those who take the “bad guy” get remembered and talked about. But do they get positive results?

One place where negativity is in no way successful is in job search. My large and growing caseload is full of such examples: those who have a negative attitude, find excuses, use the word can’t and speak ill of others, don’t get anywhere. Those who stay positive, find a way, use the word can and resist adapting a victim mentality are the ones who get back to work.

About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Latest Tweets

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

