//
you're reading...
Jobseekers' Perspective

Your Own Worst Enemy

I am taking voice lessons. One lesson involves me moving seamlessly from a very high note to a very low note without growling. I practice in my living room and can get it right, but as soon as I sing in front of my teacher, I croak!

She smiles, and tells me to just relax and let it come naturally. I encounter problems when I anticipate them coming. I strain to hit the right notes, fearing I will miss them, and the strain ruins the sound. I lose my voice.

The moral of the story? Stop fighting myself!

A close friend has been mostly unemployed for the past two years or so. He is severely depressed to the point of debilitation. When I try to advise him on a course of action, he resists. He’s too tired. He cannot afford it. He gets frustrated with not understanding how things work. A mutual friend tells me he’s the most negative person she’s ever encountered.

Who is standing in his way?

How does the old saying go? The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step? Sometimes taking that single step is the hardest part. Why? Because we don’t know what will happen when we do. We might fail. We might fall. Or we might build some momentum.

There’s nothing like the feeling of gliding over a piece of music, as my teacher says, when I’m blissfully unaware of the stumbling blocks that might otherwise trip me up. Just relax– and let it come out!

About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Latest Tweets

  • Teaching a Social Media and Job Search class at WorkSource Pierce Job Center. 2 weeks ago

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

