//
you're reading...
Job Hunting

The 30-second Commercial That Lasted a Year

While standing at the door of my classroom this morning, welcoming my Mature Jobseeker Workshop attendees, I noticed one person vaguely familiar to me. She started a little when she saw me and instantly became all smiles. During a break in the class she told me she recognized me as having been a facilitator in a class at a local community college about a year ago. This is nothing new, since I facilitate classes on job seeking all around the county.

After the class we had a deeper discussion about her situation. She was new to the area and had been a stay-at-home mother for the past 17 years. She felt entirely out of her league. She had found hope, however, in the class I had helped facilitate a year before. “You showed such confidence in your presentation, and I knew I wanted to have that too!” she said.

After a few minutes of talking I remembered the presentation she had seen. I was part of a three-person team facilitating a class on making a 60-second commercial. We started the class by each of the leaders giving their own commercial. I was the third person, and I knew that by the time it was my turn, the attendees would be bored. So I decided to take a new approach.

When I got up to give my commercial, I took a few extra seconds at the front of the room standing silently, before saying simply, “My name is Kim, and I AM BEAUTIFUL!” I then sat down.

As the discussion progressed, I explained that while my colleagues had given examples on what to say, I wanted to demonstrate how to say it. First, be brief and direct. Second, believe in what you are saying– or if you don’t, simply work on it until you can believe it. I spent nearly an hour that morning practicing that one statement in the mirror until I could sound convincing. And it paid off.

We can talk all about our skills, experience, and acoomplishments, and we may have many to talk about, but until we are able to believe in what we say, it carries little effect. Now I know the effect of my little statement that took no longer than 30 seconds (anticipatory silence included): it lasted a year and counting.

About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Latest Tweets

  • Teaching a LinkedIn Pt. A class at WorkSource Pierce. 1 month ago

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

