//
you're reading...
Resumes & Cover Letters

Using A Professional Resume Writing Service?

resumes

resumes (Photo credit: realisticresumes)

As a state-employed career counselor I tend to look down on professional resume writing services, at least for most of my customers. That said, there are always exceptions to every rule.

I realize professional services have their benefit. My jobseekers are professional at what they do, and if widget making is their specialty, writing winning resumes shouldn’t be a part of that skills list. My job does include writing resumes, but I don’t make money at it. So I don’t always have a buy-in on my customers’ success (even though I consider the success of my customers as I would my own). For a displaced CEO used to making a six-figure salary, spending a few hundred on a resume guaranteed to get interviews might be worth the investment. More than nine out of ten of my jobseekers don’t come close to that kind of salary, however; they can barely afford the gas to make it to my office, or they’ve already been forced to close down their home internet to trim monthly costs. Paying for a resume is out of the question for them.

I had a customer about a year ago who showed me her resume for a job referral. When I asked her to change a few things on it she became quite upset.  She had paid $350 for that resume; why did it need to be changed?

By the way, when I say you pay $350, did I mention that is PER resume? Since when do you use one resume for every job?

So for starters, let’s look at some brief pros and cons of hiring someone to write your resume:

PROS:

  1. They are certified professional writers (don’t use one that isn’t)
  2. Most services will have some kind of rewrite guarantee (don’t use one that doesn’t)
  3. Most have a quick turnaround time, and you can get it quickly

CONS:

  1. Cost can be prohibitive
  2. The resume will only be as good as the information you give them
  3. Resumes won’t be targeted to a specific company (a must these days)

Maybe I am somewhat old-fashioned, but while the regular “working joe” or displaced worker is not going to become an expert resume writer overnight, learning how to write a resume, along with the many other facets of a job search, has the potential to awaken in a jobseeker an understanding of the full breadth of their skills and value to an employer. As a jobseeker finds a job they feel are a true fit, the jobseeker is compelled to articulate how they match or exceed the requirements for the job, often gaining more self-appreciation for their skill set as they go. With the expert – and free – help of a local one-stop employment center, the learning process is made much easier.

 

About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

One thought on “Using A Professional Resume Writing Service?

  1. Professional curriculum vitae writing Services offers the resume to write in with according to different job as per the description of job provided by the organization. “http://cvconsultants.wordpress.com/2012/11/04/cv-writing/”

    Posted by cvconsultants | November 28, 2012, 6:07 am

Leave a Reply

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Latest Tweets

  • Teaching a LinkedIn Pt. A class at WorkSource Pierce. 1 month ago

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

