//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

You’re Never Too Old To Become Younger

Today I decided was the day to update my Mature Jobseekers Workshop content. Most of the statistics I have in there are outdated and missing vital information, so I set the day aside to update it. On the last slide is a quote attibuted to Mae West:

“You’re never too old to become younger.”

That’s what we all have to do these days. It’s what I hint to my mature jobseeker customers, and it is what I myself have to remember.

Lately I have been feeling more tired and weaker when I try to go biking, my favorite exercise. I recently purchased a new hybrid bicycle, half road bike, half trail bike. This way I can shift to offroad travel if I desire and can maneuver much more comfortably than my old road bike. Yet this new bike sits in my house, being nicely pampered but never ridden– because I’m afraid I cannot handle it.

Does that mean I have forgotten how to become younger?

Just because the arthritis in my fingers is making my hands stiff, or I have to keep my reading glasses close by, does not mean I have grown old. Even if it has, there is a state-of-the-art smart phone at my elbow playing my favorite music on Slacker, telling me otherwise. And let’s not forget that Porsche-red bike at home!

Don’t let yourself grow too old that you can’t become younger again. Stay hip, stay current, stay ACTIVE.

About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Latest Tweets

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

