//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Brief Word of Thanks… Can Turn Life Around

thankful

thankful (Photo credit: madison faith)

As Thanksgiving draws close, I wanted to give a brief word of thanks, but was unsure what that word would be. While I am grateful for all that I have in my life, I feel the simple act of expressing thanks is something I am thankful for. Let me say why.

My daughter has traveled a very rough road in her life. If there’s a person who would want to throw in the towel, it would be someone that has gone through what she’s gone through. And yet she has turned around the lives of others—not to mention her own. One day she received a phone call from a close friend who was just about to call it quits. All she could find to say were the negative things in her life. My daughter challenged her to find 5 things every day to be thankful for, and every day they would talk on the phone, and each would list the 5 things they are thankful for to each other. Both girls are now much happier.

My daughter’s example has encouraged me to do the same. I encourage all who read this to do so also.

So in the spirit of Thanksgiving, I share now the 5 things I am most thankful for:

  1. The internet. Anytime I want to look up something—a news article, a dictionary definition, job postings, anything—I don’t have to wait for the library or a business to open so I can call. It’s available at a click.
  2. Rain. You might find this funny, but I lived in the desert all my life, many years in severe drought conditions. November can be a very wet month in Washington, and every day it rains I am thankful. There’s something calming in opening the door and listening to the rain falling outside.
  3. Chicken soup. Comforts foods that are easy on an aching stomach and lend themselves to a rainy day!
  4. Toilet paper. Enough said.
  5. Living in this day and age. Sure, our parents say life was easier back when, but my progenitors were pioneers. They had covered wagons, outhouses, butter churns, spinning wheels and iceboxes. I think it’s a tradeoff.

Let’s all find 5 things to be thankful for this holiday weekend, whether we celebrate Thanksgiving or not.

About kimberlyjmyers

I am a workforce development professional in Washington State. I have ten years experience working with dislocated workers, vocationally impaired, and people with disabilities on many levels and backgrounds from offenders to non-English speaking refugees from around the world. The One thing the clients I have worked with all had in common: there was some barrier to employment, and I work diligently every day to identify, address and remove those barriers.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Remember to Be Grateful! « Job Seeking Today - December 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Latest Tweets

Satisfied… Or Not?

85% of employers say their employees are proud to work for their company. Only 71% of workers agree.

(SOURCE: Randstad Engagement Study)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

